STATS ROUND-UP: Bautista and Razgatlioglu match historic Corser numbers at Mandalika

Wednesday, 8 March 2023 08:10 GMT

Record-smashing achievements, a new winning circuit for Ducati and famous names being matched by modern titans

A stunning 2023 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship has just seen chapter two of the season signed into history, with ten rounds remaining. The Motul Indonesian Round at the Pertamina Mandalika International Street Circuit has provided more history as it welcomed WorldSBK action for a third season. From major milestones to bad form and plenty more, this week’s stats round-up reveals all.

397/128 – Xavi Vierge (Team HRC) became the 128th rider in WorldSBK to achieve a podium with third in Race 2. He gave Honda a 397th in their WorldSBK history.

110 – Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha Prometeon WorldSBK) gave Yamaha their 110th win during the Tissot Superpole Race.

87 –Razgatlioglu took his 87th podium in World Superbike after Race 2, level with Aaron Slight in eighth in the overall rankings.

60 – Alvaro Bautista took his 60th podium with Ducati, now with the same as Troy Corser.

51 – Continuing his strongest start to a WorldSBK campaign, Axel Bassani (Motocorsa Racing) has 51 points. He is top Independent and for the first time in his career, is inside the top four in the standings.

47 – Ducati won at Mandalika for the first time in Race 1, making it the 47th circuit they’ve won at.

34 – Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) gave Kawasaki their first dry weather podium of the year, the 34th in his career. He’s now one behind Ruben Xaus, Michel Fabrizio and Eugene Laverty.

33 – Razgatlioglu took his 33rd win in the Superpole Race, levelling with Troy Corser in seventh overall. Next up is Tom Sykes in sixth place with 34.

25/10 – Taking pole at Mandalika, it was a 25th front row of his career for Toprak Razgatlioglu, making it three consecutive poles at the Indonesian circuit. It was also the 2021 World Champion’s tenth pole position, now level with Carlos Checa and Pierfrancesco Chili.

13 – 13 years after the last occurrence, Yamaha achieved a 1-2 in Superpole. It was Cal Crutchlow and James Toseland back in 2010 at Kyalami.

11 – With Razgatlioglu winning ahead of teammate Andrea Locatelli in the Superpole Race, it was the 11th Yamaha 1-2 in WorldSBK, the first since Donington Park Race 2 2021 – Razgatlioglu and Garrett Gerloff.

5 – Five races without a podium for Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK), his worst streak with Kawasaki and his worst streak since Donington Park Race 1 to Portimao Race 1, 2014.

3 – The Italian riders lock-out the podium in WorldSSP for the third time in history: in Race 2, Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) was ahead of Stefano Manzi (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) and Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team).

1 – The first race win in WorldSSP for Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing), the fourth-youngest winner in WorldSSP after Andy Verdoia, Manuel Gonzalez and Yoann Tiberio.

2023 IS LIVE: enjoy the action as it happens and OnDemand with the WorldSBK VideoPass!