Race lap record pace for Aegerter in Estoril as he strikes first in Friday’s action

Friday, 20 May 2022 16:07 GMT

The reigning Champion put in a series of rapid lap times during the second practice session to top the times in the combined classification

The FIM Supersport World Championship’s first day of action at the Circuito Estoril was dominated by reigning Champion Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) as he topped the combined times by around half a second ahead of his nearest rivals. Aegerter laid down a marker in FP2 by being the only rider to lap the Portuguese circuit in the 1’39s bracket as he looks to continue his strong start to his title defence.

RAPID PACE FROM AEGERTER: everyone else playing catch-up

Aegerter’s stunning lap of 1’39.806s was faster than the race lap record set by Isaac Vinales in 2020 by around two tenths of a second, while it was also 0.555s clear of his nearest rival. It came in a 15-lap stint with 14 allowed laps that were all in the high 1’39s or low-to-mid 1’40s. Aegerter was around half-a-second clear from Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) with the Italian rookie posting a time of 1’40.361s; not improving his time in FP2.

Baldassarri finished 0.140s clear of Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) in second place, who left it until the last five minutes to overhaul his teammate Andy Verdoia. Verdoia had been running in second place for the majority of FP2, and third in the combined classification, but was put down the order by his teammate; third place still capping a strong day for the Frenchman.

CONTINUING STRONG FORM: rounding out the top ten

Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team) has enjoyed a superb start to his 2022 campaign and continued that with fifth place in the combined classification after posting a 1’40.607s in FP2, finishing just over a tenth clear of Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing), whose day was interrupted by a Turn 7 crash in FP1. He recovered in FP2 to post the sixth best time in the combined classification, ahead of Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team). The two Ducati riders battled it out for position with Caricasulo coming out on top by just 0.147s.

Hungarian rider Peter Sebestyen (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) concluded a strong day in eighth place after he found one second between his best lap times in FP1 and FP2, posting a 1’40.928s in FP2 for eighth spot in the combined classification. Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) was another who had an eventful day with two huge moments through Turn 13, one in each session, as well as a Turn 6 crash in FP1. He posted a 1’40.963s in FP1 to claim ninth spot, ahead of Stefano Manzi (Dynavolt Triumph) who rounded out the top ten.

HOPING TO GAIN GROUND: looking to move into the top ten

Yari Montella (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) missed out on a spot in the top ten by just 0.006s as he claimed 11th place, ahead of Raffaele De Rosa (Orelac Racing VerdNatura WorldSSP) in 12th; the Italian crashing at Turn 1 in FP2 which interrupted his running. Unai Orradre (MS Racing Yamaha WorldSSP) ran in the top positions throughout the day but found himself in 13th place at the end of the day, just 0.047s ahead of Tom Booth-Amos (Prodina Racing WorldSSP) as the Brit returned to the track following an injury sustained at Assen. Niki Tuuli (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) rounded out the top 15 with 15th place.

HOUSEKEEPING: to note from WorldSSP

Tom Edwards (Yart – Yamaha WorldSSP) was 19th after he crashed at Turn 1 in FP2, although he was not the only rider to be caught out by the right hander after a heavy braking zone. Ben Currie (Motozoo Racing by Puccetti) was another who was caught out in FP2 on his first appearance of the year, finishing 25th in the combined classification.

The top six following WorldSSP action on Friday, full results here:

1 Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) 1’39.806s

2. Lorenzo Baldassarri (Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha Team) +0.555s

3. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.695s

4. Andy Verdoia (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.731s

5. Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Team) +0.801s

6. Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing) +0.952s

Watch more WorldSSP action on Saturday starting with the Tissot Superpole session at 10:25 Local Time (GMT+1) using the WorldSBK VideoPass!