2020 and 2021 Champions celebrated at the FIM Gala in Monaco

Tuesday, 7 December 2021 08:50 GMT

The World Champions from 2020 and 2021 inside the WorldSBK paddock were celebrated in Monaco at the FIM Gala over the weekend

The World Champions from inside the MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship paddock across the 2020 and 2021 seasons have been celebrated at the FIM Awards Ceremony in Monaco. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 Gala was cancelled meaning this year’s ceremony, hosted by two-time WorldSBK James Toseland, was bigger than ever as it celebrated six different Champions across WorldSBK, WorldSSP and WorldSSP300 from the past two seasons as well as Champions from other disciplines. 

Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) was on hand to pick up his Champion award for the 2020 season after he won a record-breaking sixth consecutive title last season, while 2021 Champion Toprak Razgatlioglu (Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) collected his award for this season after an incredible season-long battle with Rea.

They were joined by the last two FIM Supersport World Championship title winners with Andrea Locatelli (now at Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK) and Dominique Aegerter (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) celebrated. Both won the title in their rookie World Supersport campaign in sensational style with Locatelli moving straight into the factory Yamaha outfit in 2021 for his maiden WorldSBK campaign, while Aegerter sticks with WorldSSP for a second successive season with Ten Kate Racing in 2022.

In the FIM Supersport 300 World Championship, Adrian Huertas (MTM Kawasaki) and former teammate Jeffrey Buis (now G.A.P. MOTOZOO Racing by Puccetti) were celebrated on the French Riviera. Buis took the 2020 season by storm as he fended off his challengers to be crowned World Champion for the first time in 2020, while Adrian Huertas prevented Buis from claiming a second successive title with his 2021 Championship victory. 

Get set for an incredible 2022 season using the WorldSBK VideoPass!