Rea victorious in Aragon Superpole race

Sunday, 30 August 2020 09:26 GMT

Reigning Champion Rea continues his 100% record of Tissot Superpole Race wins in 2020 with his fourth consecutive Superpole Race victory

As Sunday action started for the MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship at the Prosecco DOC Aragon Round, it was Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) who claimed victory in the Tissot Superpole Race at MotorLand Aragon with the five-time Champion securing pole position for Race 2.

Rea had fallen behind Loris Baz (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) at the start, in a similar scene to Saturday’s Race 1, but took just two corners to re-gain the lead. He pulled away from the chasing group to claim victory and to start first in Race 2. He will be joined on the front row by Scott Redding (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati) and Michael van der Mark (PATA YAMAHA WorldSBK Official Team).

Alvaro Bautista (Team HRC) secured his best starting position of 2020 as he will start Race 2 from fourth place after the Spanish rider passed Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) in the closing stages of the 10-lap race. It means Bautista secures his best result of 2020 and Honda’s first top four since Buriram Race 1 in 2018 with Leon Camier. Lowes will start Race 2 in sixth place after Chaz Davies (ARUBA.IT Racing Ducati) was able to pass Lowes on the final lap; seven-time Aragon race winner Davies starting Race 2 in fifth.

Toprak Razgatlioglu (PATA YAMAHA WorldSBK Official Team) battled his way up from 11th on the grid to secure a third row start in Race 2, with seventh, with Michael Ruben Rinaldi (Team GOELEVEN) lining up alongside him. Baz, who had challenged on the first lap, fell back during the race but was able to claim a ninth-place finish to take a third row start for Race 2.

There was drama on Lap 1 when Tom Sykes (BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team) went off the track at the Turn 8 and 9 corkscrew section after battling with Davies, re-joining the circuit and making contact with Leandro ‘Tati’ Mercado (Motocorsa Racing); the Argentinean rider coming off his bike and retiring from the race while Sykes was able to continue. He was taken to the medical centre for a check-up after the incident with Sykes placed under investigation.

The top six following Tissot Superpole Race, full results here:

1.) Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK)

2.) Scott Redding (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati) +0.2635

3.) Michael van der Mark (PATA YAMAHA WorldSBK Official Team) +4.041

4.) Alvaro Bautista (Team HRC) +5.560

5.) Chaz Davies (ARUBA.IT Racing – Ducati) +5.976

6.) Alex Lowes (Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK) +6.232

You can follow more WorldSBK action using the WorldSBK VideoPass!