Gradinger makes WorldSSP history with first Austrian pole position!

Saturday, 6 April 2019 10:26 GMT

A sensational WorldSSP Tissot Superpole session sees seven nationalities in the top ten!

The World Supersport championship returned to the MotorLand Aragon circuit in dry conditions for the Tissot Superpole session. A flurry of action at the end of the session saw Thomas Gradinger (Kallio Racing) become the first Austrian to secure a pole position in the history of the WorldSSP championship.

The Austrian rider put in a great lap with a masterful last sector to secure Austria’s first pole position in WorldSSP history. Gradinger also becomes the first Austrian since Christian Zaiser at EuroSpeedway Lausitz in 2006 to start on the front row. Second position on the grid went to Federico Caricasulo (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team), whilst his teammate, Randy Krummenacher, completed the all-Yamaha front row.

Heading up row two, championship leader Jules Cluzel (GMT94 YAMAHA) will hope for a fast start in order to battle hard to retain his championship lead, with him and Krummenacher level on points. Isaac Viñales (Kallio Racing) was fifth, with Raffaele De Rosa (MV AGUSTA Reparto Corse) in sixth, the first non-Yamaha on the grid.

Row three will see 2017 WorldSSP champion Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) in seventh and less than half-a-second from pole position. Corentin Perolari (GMT94 YAMAHA) finished in eighth place despite a fast crash at Turn 16, with Japanese star Hikari Okubo (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) in ninth. Completing the top ten was Hannes Soomer (MPM WILSport Racedays) for Honda, making it the second time in three Superpole sessions in 2019 that all four manufacturers have enjoyed top ten representation.

The leading Europe Supersport Cup rider was Kyle Smith (Team Pedercini Racing), in 13th place, as he makes his return to the WorldSSP field.

Watch the WorldSSP race unfold on Sunday with the WorldSBK VideoPass!

For full results, click here

  1. Thomas Gradinger (Kallio Racing) 1’53.972
  2. Federico Caricasulo (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) 1’54.091
  3. Randy Krummenacher (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) 1’54.227
  4. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 YAMAHA) 1’54.361
  5. Isaac Viñales (Kallio Racing) 1’54.392
  6. Raffaele De Rosa (MV AGUSTA Reparto Corse) 1’54.436