Michael van der Mark takes first WSS win at home

Sunday, 27 April 2014 10:15 GMT

Packed grandstands erupt with noise as Pata Honda crosses the line.

Michael van der Mark (Pata Honda World Supersport Team) has won his first World Supersport race after an enthralling early race fight with pole-sitter Florian Marino (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres).

The Dutch rider had the packed grandstands on their feet as lap by lap he edged away claiming victory by over 9 seconds with the added bonus of a new lap record.
Early leader and former champion Kenan Sofuoglu (Mahi Team India Kawasaki) regrouped after a mistake early in the race only to be forced into retirement with a technical problem on lap 13.

Sofuoglu’s departure resulted in a three rider dice for the final few laps with Jules Cluzel (MV Agusta RC – Yakhnich Motorsport), Kev Coghlan (DMC-Panavto Yamaha) and Lorenzo Zanetti (Pata Honda World Supersport Team) to sort out the final place on the podium.

At the flag Marino secured 2nd as Cluzel was classified 3rd ahead of Coghlan and Zanetti. Roberto Rolfo (Go Eleven Kawasaki) finished 6th.