New best lap unlocks Tissot-Superpole win for Biaggi

Saturday, 8 September 2012 14:31 GMT
New best lap unlocks Tissot-Superpole win for Biaggi

In near perfect riding conditions Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing Team) set a new track best of 1 minute 53.855 seconds at the Nürburgring to secure his first Tissot-Superpole win of the year and only the fifth of his career. The 2010 World Champion was in superb form and set a lap time that even the 2012 king of Tissot-Superpole, Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team), could not beat, even after a few attempts.

Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad Motorsport) rode confidently to third place on the grid for Sunday's eni FIM Superbike World Championship races. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) joins the front row party in fourth, with Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike Team) putting himself fifth.

Reigning champion Carlos Checa (Althea Racing Ducati) secured sixth place while a spirited series of laps throughout Superpole from Leon Camier (FIXI Crescent Suzuki) puts him seventh. The last front row spot will go to Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team).